Trade regimes

The Republic of Belarus uses three types of trade regimes in the trade and economic relations with other countries.

  • Free Trade Regime / Free Trade Zone

The free trade regime is one of the most effective forms of international economic integration. The establishment of free trade regime is carried out on a contractual basis between the states having a rather high level of trade, economic and political cooperation.

The free trade regime provides for the abolishment of customs tariffs and quantitative restrictions in bilateral trade. Extra sensitive products are exempted from the free trade regime.

The Republic of Belarus has signed bilateral agreements on free trade with Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Russia, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Serbia.

The CIS Treaty on Free Trade Area signed on October 18, 2011 was accepted by Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan and Ukraine

Belarus is also a Member of the CIS Agreement on Free Trade Area signed on April 15, 1994 (with alterations of April 2, 1999).

The Republic of Belarus and Georgia through an exchange of notes between the foreign ministries, agreed to apply in mutual trade the regime under the Agreement on the Establishment of a Free Trade Zone dated April 15, 1994.

The successful implementation of the Eurasian economic integration stimulates foreign countries to cooperate with Belarus and the Eurasian Economic Union in general.

In accordance with the Article 35 of the EAEU Treaty signed on May 29, 2014, the free trade regime with the third party is established on the basis of an international treaty of the Union with this third party.

On May 29, 2015 after three years of negotiations a Free Trade Agreement between the Eurasian Economic Union and its Member States, on the one part, and the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, on the other part, was signed. The Agreement entered into force on October 5, 2016, and provides for significant reduction or abolishment of import duties on almost all key positions of Belarusian exports to Vietnam. At the same time the Agreement provides for efficient level of market protection for Belarusian producers.

On October 25, 2019 the Agreement on trade and economic cooperation between the Eurasian Economic Union and its Member States, on the one part, and the People's Republic of China, on the one part, and on October 27, 2019 the Interim Agreement, leading to the formation of a free trade zone between the EAEU and its Member States, on the one part, and the Islamic Republic of Iran, on the other part, have entered into force. The Agreements were signed on May 17, 2018 during the Astana Economic Forum.

In 2019, EAEU Member States completed negotiations on concluding free trade agreements with Singapore, as well as on unifying the trade regime with Serbia. It is anticipated that these agreements will enter into force in in the second half of 2020 after ratification procedures.

Negotiations are ongoing with Israel, Egypt and India.

In September 2020, the EAEU initiated the joint studies on the prospects for conclusion of the free trade agreements with Mongolia and Indonesia

  • Most-Favoured-Nation Regime (MFN)

Most-Favoured-Nation Regime requires non-discriminatory treatment of trade partners in the field of economic, trade and other relations. The MFN is exercised on a reciprocal basis through the conclusion of multilateral and bilateral treaties.

In trade with foreign countries EAEU Member States apply customs rates which are established by the Common Customs Tariff of the EAEU.

  • Preferential Regime (System of Preferences)

Source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Belarus