Exploit the unused potential

In March this year, 25 years have passed since the establishment of diplomatic relations between Belarus and Poland. This country is an important trading partner of Belarus due to the geographical position that has developed strong international relations over many centuries. Konrad PAVLIK, the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Poland to the Republic of Belarus, tells about the prospects for increasing mutual trade, investment cooperation, the opportunity to develop cross-border cooperation, and Belarusian goods that can take a worthy place on the shelves of Polish stores. 

— Mr. Ambassador, trade and economic relations are the basis of interaction between our countries. How do you assess their condition at the present stage?

— Figures speak best about the state of our trade and economic relations. I am glad that in the seven months of 2017, compared with the same period last year, there was an increase in mutual trade turnover by 9.1% to $ 1.41 billion US dollars (according to Poland).

In 2016, the trade turnover between Poland and Belarus was almost at the same level as in 2015, decreasing by only 0.7%. But for the sake of objectivity, it should be noted that 2015 was a year of a sharp decline in trade turnover - by 28%, from $ 3 billion to $ 2.2 billion.

Today, Poland is ranked 4th and 5th in the list of the largest trading partners of Belarus. In the middle of last year, for a short time, our country ranked third, giving way only to Russia and Ukraine. However, the rise was not associated with an increase in commodity turnover: in 2016, Belarus and Poland experienced a less noticeable decrease in commodity turnover compared with other major trading partners of your country.

In general, the difference in the volumes of mutual trade of Belarus with Poland, China, Germany is insignificant. Therefore, Poland may well re-appear in the list of the largest trading partners after Russia and Ukraine. The potential of our economies allows us to do this.

I believe that in trade and economic relations we should strive to return at least to the 2014 indicators. With the current economic development and the dynamics of mutual trade, we can within one or two years, return to three billion dollars. With an increase in the openness of the Belarusian economy, mutual trade can increase to $ 5–10 billion US dollars. But this, of course, are theoretical calculations. In reality, the dynamics of our cooperation depends on a number of different factors. We need to be optimistic and work to increase mutual trade turnover. The influx of foreign direct investment can have a significant impact on mutual trade indicators.

— In your opinion, is it worth expecting a significant influx of Polish investments in the Belarusian economy in the near future?

— Poland is one of the main investment partners of Belarus. In terms of investment in 2016, we are among the leaders, and today Poland is about 10th in the list of main investors in the economy of Belarus. We note the presence of interest in the Belarusian market from Polish investors, so I think we will remain among the leaders. In the coming years, I hope, we will be in the top five largest investors in Belarus.

Read the full version of the article in the magazine Market conditions. Published issues of the journal can be purchased in the editorial office.

Задействовать неиспользуемый потенциал

В марте этого года исполнилось 25 лет с момента установления дипломатических отношений между Беларусью и Польшей. Эта страна — важный торговый партнер для Беларуси в силу географического положения, сложившихся на протяжении многих веков прочных межнациональных связей. О перспективах увеличения взаимного товарооборота, инвестиционном взаимодействии, стремлении развивать приграничное сотрудничество и о белорусских товарах, которые могут занять достойное место на прилавках польских магазинов, рассказывает Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол Республики Польша в Республике Беларусь Конрад ПАВЛИК.

— Господин Посол, торгово-экономические отношения являются основой взаимодействия между нашими странами. Как Вы оцениваете их состояние на современном этапе?

— О состоянии наших торгово-экономических отношений лучше всего говорят цифры. Радует, что за семь месяцев 2017 г. в сравнении с аналогичным периодом прошлого года отмечается рост показателей взаимного товарооборота на 9,1 % — до $ 1,41 млрд (по данным Польши).

В 2016 г. товарооборот между Польшей и Беларусью оказался почти на том же уровне, что и в 2015-м, сократившись лишь на 0,7 %. Но объективности ради следует напомнить, что 2015-й был годом резкого снижения торгового оборота — на 28 %, с $ 3 млрд до $ 2,2 млрд.

Сегодня Польша занимает 4-ю и 5-ю строчки в списке крупнейших торговых партнеров Беларуси. В середине прошлого года непродолжительное время наша страна занимала 3-е место, уступая только России и Украине. Правда, подъем не был связан с ростом товарооборота: в 2016 г. у Беларуси с Польшей наблюдалось менее заметное снижение товарооборота по сравнению с другими важнейшими торговыми партнерами вашей страны.

В целом разница в объемах взаимной торговли Беларуси с Польшей, Китаем, Германией незначительная. Поэтому Польша вполне может вновь расположиться в списке крупнейших торговых партнеров вслед за Россией и Украиной. Потенциал наших экономик позволяет это сделать.

Полагаю, что в торгово-экономических отношениях мы должны стремиться к возвращению как минимум к показателям 2014 г. При существующем темпе экономического развития и динамике взаимной торговли мы можем в краткосрочной перспективе, то есть в течение одного-двух лет, вернуться к трехмиллиардному обороту. При росте открытости белорусской экономики взаимный товарооборот может увеличиться и до $ 5—10 млрд. Но это, разумеется, теоретические подсчеты. В реальности динамика нашего сотрудничества зависит от ряда различных факторов. Нам нужно быть оптимистами и активно работать над увеличением взаимного товарооборота. Значительное влияние на показатели взаимной торговли может оказать приток прямых иностранных инвестиций.

— По Вашему мнению, стоит ли ожидать в ближайшем будущем значительного притока польских инвестиций в белорусскую экономику?

— Польша — один из основных инвестиционных партнеров Беларуси. По объему инвестиций в 2016 г. мы вошли в число лидеров, и сегодня Польша находится примерно на 10-м месте в списке основных инвесторов в экономику Беларуси. Мы отмечаем наличие заинтересованности в белорусском рынке со стороны польских инвесторов, поэтому, думаю, останемся среди лидеров. В ближайшие годы, надеюсь, попадем в первую пятерку крупнейших инвесторов в Беларуси.

Полную версию интервью читайте в журнале «Конъюнктура рынков» (печатной или электронной версии), который распространяется по подписке.